Kentucky Motorcycle Helmet Law
This list of Kentucky motorcycle helmet laws is a reference only and you should always refer to the Kentucky D.O.T. for current requirements. Please e-mail us if you believe our Kentucky motorcycle helmet law information is out of date or otherwise incorrect.
Kentucky has helmet laws that exempt adult riders, riders over the age of majority -- 21 years old and over!
Kentucky Motorcycle Helmet Statue:
(4) A motorcycle operator authorized to drive a motorcycle on an instruction permit shall not be authorized to carry passengers.
SECTION 2. A NEW SECTION OF KRS CHAPTER 186 IS CREATED TO READ AS FOLLOWS:
(1) A person over the age of twenty-one (21) years who wishes to operate a motorcycle without wearing protective headgear shall provide proof of health insurance coverage to the county clerk when obtaining or renewing the registration on any motorcycle registered in the person's name. The Transportation Cabinet shall develop, and the county clerk shall provide to the applicant, a decal to affix to the applicant's license plate signifying that the applicant has health insurance and may operate a motorcycle without wearing protective headgear. The applicant shall pay a fee of three dollars ($3) to the county clerk for the decal.
(2) The county clerk shall notify the insurer that upon nonrenewal or cancellation of a health insurance policy for a person under subsection (1) of this section, the insurer shall immediately notify the Department of Vehicle Regulation.
(3) Upon notification to the Department of Vehicle Regulation from an insurance company of the cancellation or nonrenewal of a policy under subsection (2) of this section, the department shall immediately notify the insured. Notification to the insured shall state that the insured's policy is no longer valid and that the insured shall have thirty (30) days to show proof of health insurance to the department or the county clerk. The department shall further inform the insured that if evidence of health insurance coverage is not received within thirty (30) days the department shall suspend the operator's license of the insured for ninety (90) days, or until the person presents proof of health insurance to the department or the county clerk and pays the reinstatement fee required by KRS 186.440 and the relicensing fee required by KRS 186.450.
Title XVI. Motor Vehicles. Chapter 189. Traffic Regulations; Vehicle Equipment and Storage. Section 189.285 Regulations for Operating and Riding On Motorcycles. :
State Funded Rider Education