Loading... Please wait...

Rhode Island Motorcycle Helmet Law

This list of Rhode Island motorcycle helmet laws is a reference only and you should always refer to the Rhode Island D.O.T. for current requirements.  Please e-mail us if you believe our Rhode Island motorcycle helmet law information is out of date or otherwise incorrect.

Rhode Island has helmet laws that exempt adult riders, riders over the age of majority -- 21 years old and over!

STATUTE: Title 31. Motor and Other Vehicles. Chapter 10.1. Special License for Motorcycles, Motor Scooters, and Other Motor Driven Cycles. Section 31-10.1-4. Equipment. : 
". . . Any operator under the age of twenty-one (21) shall wear a helmet of a type approved by the administrator of motor vehicles. In addition, all new operators, regardless of age, shall be required, for a period of one year from the date of issuance of the first license pursuant to s 31-10.1-1, to wear a helmet of a type approved by said administrator."

FINE: Title 31. Motor and Other Vehicles. Chapter 10.1. Special License for Motorcycles, Motor Scooters, and Other Motor Driven Cycles. Section 31-10.1-4. Equipment. : 
". . . Any person deemed in violation of this provision shall be fined thirty-five dollars ($35.00) which shall be paid in accordance with the provisions of chapter 41 of this title."

STANDARDS:Title 31. Motor and Other Vehicles. Chapter 10.1. Special License for Motorcycles, Motor Scooters, and Other Motor Driven Cycles. Section 31-10.1-4. Equipment. : 
". . . of a type approved by the administrator of motor vehicles.

State Funded Rider Education 
Available for all eligible applicants. 
Required for first-time applicants. 
May waive skills test for successful completion of rider ed. 
May waive knowledge test for successful completion of rider ed. 

Eye Protection 
Required by law. 

Passenger Seat 
Required if carrying a passenger. 

Passenger Footrests 
Required if carrying a passenger. 

Mirror 
Required by law. 

Periodic Safety Inspection 
Required by law. 

RHODE ISLAND: DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF CLOTHING OR CLUB MEMBERSHIP IS ILLEGAL

Rhode Island General Laws, Section 11-24-1, (1956, as amended), provides that "All persons within the jurisdiction of this state shall be entitled to the full and equal accommodations, advantages, facilities and privileges of any place of public accommodation, resort or amusement subject only to the conditions and limitations established by law and applicable alike to all persons." Further, any persons aggrieved by any violation of this statute has the right to petition the Rhode Island Commission on Human Rights to induce compliance. RL Gen. Laws Section 11-24-4 (1956, as amended).

The Supreme Court of the United States has ruled in the case of Cohen v. California, 403 U.S. 15 (1971), that persons have the constitutional right under the First Amendment to wear clothing which displays writing or designs. In addition, the right of an individual to freedom of association has long been recognized and protected by the United States Supreme Court Thus, a person's right to wear the clothing of his choice, as well as his right to belong to any club or organization of his choice is constitutionally protected, and persons or establishments who discriminate on the basis of clothing or club membership may be subject to lawsuit.